Holy Mary!

I grew up in a Christian Western society. My perspective on life has been a result of my environment and background.

The playful interaction of society’s many icons, physical transformations, and the resulting improbable combinations, have culminated in my vision of a woman’s role and place in our society.
This inner questioning of a woman’s role, has led me to use one of the most sacred icons in my work, namely, the Virgin Mary.

Initially, I begin with damaged statues, either donated or discovered in garage sales, which I then restore and transform.” –SOASIG CHAMAILLARD

View the gallery HERE.

via comics alliance

Leave a Reply

