Cole-o-ween: Day 7

Day number of Queue De Grâce is here at Spectacular Optical! Cole of vitagraph, american has put us on The Shinkansen and rocketed our butts deep into the atomic heart of the Land of the Rising Sun! Today’s film is the near indescribable HOUSE (1977)!

I’ve been wanting to see HOUSE since Criterion announced they were putting it out on DVD last year….so I was super stoked when it appeared in Cole’s goodie bag! This film is by far the craziest one in the queue (so far)…and while I’ve been craving some more mature themed (read: filled with violence and nudity) movies, HOUSE turned out to be the all-ages type of spook-show I’d love to present to an unsuspecting slumber party of elementary school kids….especially since it’s filled with violence and contains some brief nudity. (I’m guessing my definition of all-ages might differ from others…but hey, I was born in the 70s and raised on cable.)

Wait…that sounds weird. I guess you’re wondering why I’d have a group of fourth graders over to my house to spend the night and watch scary movies….well…uh…I really wouldn’t…but if it wasn’t so creepy sounding, this is definitely the movie I’d have them watch.

All I kept thinking about during the hour and thirty of this bonkers masterpiece is what a great horror movie it is for kids. Imagine my lack of surprise when I did some reading about the film and found out that director Nobuhiko Obayashi, was of the opinion that adults “only think about things they understand…everything stays on that boring human level” while “children can come up with things that can’t be explained“. And, get this, Obayashi totally teamed up with his pre-teen daughter to come up with some of the most outrageous and satisfying pieces of the film.

I’m not going to go into the plot other than to say it’s a about Gorgeous and her six girlfriends: Prof, Melody, Kung Fu, Mac, Sweet and Fantasy and their psycohtronic summer vacation at Gorgeous’ auntie’s house in the country.

While HOUSE isn’t for everyone, I do think any kid with an imagination (that would be all of them) and cool parents will absolutely love it.

So, with all that being said here’s the breakdown…

Things I liked:

  • My two favorite gals were Mac and Kung Fu
  • The special effects
  • The House
  • Blanche the cat

Things I disliked:

  • The thought that some parents are too uptight to let their kids watch wildly imaginative and appropriately scary films like HOUSE
  • That everyone kept calling Mac fat…sure she liked to eat but she was far from fat…even for 70s Japan

That’s all folks! Join us for Day 8 when we prove big budgets are for wussies!

Leave a Reply

