Cole-o-ween: Day 4

It’s day cuarto of Queue De Grâce here at Spectacular Optical and Cole of vitagraph, american has transported us to México for a spooky picture from 1961 called, LA MALDICION DE LA LLORONA (otherwise known as THE CURSE OF THE CRYING WOMAN to us gringos).

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m a tad deficient in my foreign film consumption even though I have seen more than a handful of horror pictures made outside of the good ol’ U.S.A. I was pleased to see CURSE in the queue since I have enjoyed some Brazilian and Italian horror movies from the 60s and I needed to add Mexico to my list. And let me tell you, this Mexican import did not disappoint!

If you haven’t seen any early Mexican horror films and you love the old Gothic style that’s shrouded in fog and draped in cobwebs, then you’ll totally dig director Rafael Baledón‘s melodramatic, black and white spine chiller.

Well, maybe spine chilling isn’t an accurate description…unless you think Scooby-Doo, Where Are You! (1969) is particularly scary. I have to admit CURSE did remind me of Scooby-Doo quite a bit…granted, I’ve been watching a lot of Scoob and the gang’s exploits thanks to my two year old son’s obsession, so it’s been on my mind these days.

Seriously,the similarities are uncanny: the creepy old house, a family curse, secret passageways, trap doors, a “goonie ghost“, the hunchback servant, a dungeon complete with rats and bats…the only thing missing was the Great Dane…oh wait…


I really love horror movies like these…sure they’re cheesy, but their sincerity is refreshing and they consistently deliver the hair-raising goods for all ages. Oh, I guess I should mention something about the plot and the cast…The story is somewhat based on the old legend of La Llorona (“The Weeping Woman”) and involves a family curse, a bruja hellbent on omnipotence, her doomed (recently wed) niece, torture, murder, and monsters.

The cast was great in a telenovela kind of way and it was a nice change of pace to see the male characters in peril and the female characters taking charge in the villain and the hero roles.

So, with all that being said here’s the breakdown…

Things I liked:

  • The atmosphere
  • Rubber bats
  • Sensitive monster-man
  • Hunchback servant of evil
  • The arty flashback back story
  • The 10 minute punch up at the end
  • The Gustavo César Carrión score

Things I disliked:

  • The lack of this guy:

Don’t forget to come back tomorrow, ’cause you’re all invited to join us for day 5…it just might blow your mind.

Leave a Reply

